Is the Longest Day of the Year the Time for a Fresh Start?

summer solstice

June 21, 2015

In 2015, the longest day of the year arrives this Saturday.  It’s the Summer Solstice, and the sun will reach its northernmost point in the sky on Saturday, June 21, at 6:51 a.m. EDT.

People around the world celebrate the solstice and others may view it as a time to begin new projects, lead new initiatives, or start anew since it is the day on which we will receive the most sunlight this year.   What might you do to get that fresh start?

Let me recommend a good book to help you change up things in your life a bit.  I strongly suggest reading The Road to Character by David Brooks.  It was a New York Times bestseller for a reason.  Much of that reason may be the author’s engaging writing style.  For example, in the Introduction he writes:

“I wrote this book not sure I could follow the road to character, but I wanted at least to know what the road looks like and how other people have trodden it.”—David Brooks

the Road to Character

He tackles a topic that has always fascinated me.  What impact do I want to have on this world when I leave it?  Have I accomplished; those things that mean the most to many people; kindness, bravery, honesty, or faithfulness or did I dwell too long on the resume values of achieving wealth, fame, and status?

Enjoy the solstice and take some of those few extra minutes of sunlilght we’ve been accumulating this month to relax with this good book or another of your choosing.

Leave a Reply

